Flordia Governor DeSantis Flew Migrants From Texas On Florida Taxpayers Dime

Flordia Governor DeSantis Flew Migrants From Texas On Florida Taxpayers Dime Joe Raedle via Getty Images

News that is entertaining to read

Early Chirp is a free daily newsletter that makes reading the news fun

Florida Governor Ron DeSantis charted two planes carrying migrants to Martha's Vineyard last week. DeSantis's office confirmed that Florida chartered two planes last week to transport migrants from Texas to Martha's Vineyard in Massachusetts. The migrants were from Venezuela and Columbia.

A spokesperson for DeSantis said the planes were part of 'Florida's' "relocation program to transport illegal immigrants to sanctuary destinations."

The people of Martha's Vineyard welcomed the migrants with open arms. Several legal scholars believe DeSantis using state funds to enforce federal laws in a bit of political theater may have been illegal.

The same plane DeSantis chartered last week looked to be flying to an airport near United States President Joe Biden's home on Tuesday. The information available on FlightRadar24 led observers to believe undocumented migrants were on board, but that has yet to be confirmed at the writing of this article.

The following information was relevant for Tuesday morning:

FlightRadar 24 shows the plane, given the designation J328, is set to leave San Antonio, Texas, at 8 a.m. Central time (9 a.m ET) and arrive in Crestview, Florida, at 10:03 a.m. CT (11:03 a.m. ET) for a brief layover, before departing for Delaware Coastal Airport in Sussex County, Delaware, at 10:17 a.m. CT (11:17 a.m. ET).

The airport is a 40-minute drive from the President's home, but the plane never arrived in Delaware; instead, it departed for Nashville, Tennessee at 2:30 p.m., later arriving without a migrant (or anyone) on board.

Was this a failed political stunt? We'll likely never receive a confirmation of that.

Never be left in the dark